Buy a coffee for Jocelyn Galey

ko-fi.com/missgaley

About

22. London, ON. Digital artist, occasional voice over artist, disabled. Going to school for video game development and design.

  twitter.com/miss_galey

Jocelyn Galey:
UPDATE (November 17th, 2017):

As my Twitter followers will know, the Ontario College faculty have been on strike since October 16th, 2017. During this time, I have been unable to attend classes as they are not being held. My education has been placed on hold and my employment status is also stagnant. Until there is a definite answer as to whether or not students will be returning to classes full-time, potential employers have expressed hesitance to take on college students with uncertain schedules and no availability to work during the busy winter holidays. If we do return to class, our semester will be extended into late January 2018—an extra month of rent and utilities I have no way of paying for! There is currently no information as to whether or not I am entitled to further funding from the province or school's financial aid office. The lack of updates and certainty has been very hard on my mental health and it is very likely that I will be forced to retake the semester entirely on top of everything else. However, I am honestly more concerned about the additional financial strain.

Therefore, I am hoping to raise $800 FOR RENT+UTILITIES and a few groceries for January-February 2018! It won't cover everything but I am in touch with the school's food bank and social supports, as well as open for art commissions indefinitely. Please contact me on Twitter (@miss_galey) or Patreon (missgaley) to find out more!

THE STORY:

My name is Galey and thanks for stopping by my Ko-Fi page. Many of you know me through Twitter and Patreon, both of which I encourage you to visit if you haven't already! I am a 22-year-old artist from Canada and this is my 'tip jar', so to speak.

Over the course of the year (late 2016 and presently in 2017), I have made the massive and often difficult transition towards living alone. While circumstances were not ideal, I left home in November of 2016 and stayed with a friend. Thanks to the tremendous support I received online, I was able to find a place to stay and re-enrol in college as of January 2017. I currently have a lovely little apartment and study video game design and development! I am a freelance artist in the little spare time that I have during the school year.

I am also disabled. As such, it can be difficult to find and maintain stable employment. I have been in touch with numerous wonderful community resources throughout the year to find help! I am even in the process of trying to obtain government income support . However, a large majority of my financial aid currently comes from school loans, grants, and bursaries. The rest of my income is supported by art commissions, Patreon pledges, and whatever my supporters can spare here!

What do your tips go towards? First and foremost, I make sure that I can pay my rent ($680/mo + $25 fees for internet from my landlord, totalled at $705/mo) and hydro ($5-$10/mo after financial assistance). Next comes groceries (roughly $140/mo if I do two large shopping trips) and a bit of spending money for extra costs when I'm out (~$50/mo at most). My transportation is covered by my school tuition and my medication is partially covered by health insurance.*

Other than that, any additional tips may be used to cover the costs of art supplies, tech repairs, etc. Sometimes life likes to throw those things at you, after all. Sometimes your support gives me just the simple peace of mind, knowing that there are people out there who want to support my work!

Whatever support you can offer is appreciated! Even a little can go a long way. Thank you so much for taking the time to read this and I hope you have a great day.

Galey <3

*I am currently between medications and costs are a concern, should my medications or dosages change.

Supporter Message

Support unlocks a quick message. Available to registered Ko-fi Supporters.

1 month's rent + expenses.
11% of goal reached

Every coffee counts!

Jocelyn Galey's Feed

loading